John Winchurch's Pages

The faces of history – Alice Plucknett Sternberg

Alice Plucknett Sternberg coloured photo from about 1880

Alice Plucknett Sternberg coloured photo from about 1880

Alice Plucknett Sternberg, my great grandmother was born in Bristol in 1856 and died in Birmingham in 1944. She was alive when I was born, but sadly I have no memory of her. I do, however have some of her belongings, such as photos and a black travel trunk with the intials A.P.S. (Alice Plucknett Sternberg) in studs.

Alice Plucknett Sternberg. Initialled Travel trunk - about 1880

Alice Plucknett Sternberg. Initialled Travel trunk - about 1880

Alice with her great grandson, John, in 1943

Alice with her great grandson, John, in 1943

Alice was the daughter of Francis George Sternberg and Elizabeth (née Plucknett). She grew up in Birmingham and at the age of twenty two she married twenty one year old Henry Ambrose Brown, whose parents I wrote about in ‘Richard and Mary Ellen

Henry Ambrose with Marionon the left and blonde haired Vic (my father) facing away from the camera. The other toddler is, I think, Jack Brown.

Henry Ambrose with Marion on the left and blonde haired Vic (my father) facing away from the camera. The other toddler is I think, Vic's cousin, Jack Brown.

02/12/2008 - Posted by | Family History

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you for this page…
    The picture of Alice reminds me of my grandmother Sofina (Plucknett)Wilson.
    I remember she always had her silver hair in a french roll and did beautiful needlework.
    I have a supper cloth that is always admired
    made many years ago.
    Unfortunatly I do not have any photos of her.
    I do have a photo of (Woodgrove) where she lived for many years…

    Comment by Joy Spearing | 20/02/2011


Leave a Reply

